Style Guide: Earthy Modern

All these design styles floating around the design world  may make perfect sense to designers but I know some of them are confusing for most consumers especially since there is so much overlap withing the styles. Here is some information about the Earthy Modern style which is what I relate to the most.

The Basics

  • A love of culture, style, and trends, but appreciate timeless forms and simple lines.
  • Value good design and quality craftsmanship
  • Strong preference for streamlined over highly embellished or cluttered.
  • Appreciate the warmth and individuality of natural materials and handcrafted thing
  • Inspired by colors and forms from nature
  • Love mixing up different textures and are sensitive to the tactile qualities of objects
  • Grounded and solid, not flighty or frilly
  • Value creativity
  • A natural sense of drama
  • Take risks with colors, finishes, furniture choices, or ideas

Earthy Modern is clean and comfortable but not overstuffed and fussy. I like to think of it as mid century with a natural twist. For me, the photo below represents Earthy Modern pretty well as does my living room.

Want this look? You can go to High Fashion Home and get part (sofa, chair, coffee table, lamp and curtains) of the look for about $5350 or check back in a few days for my adaptations which is sure to save you hundreds!

10 thoughts on “Style Guide: Earthy Modern

  1. I love this look. It’s especially appealing where I live in Canada because it gives me that outdoor feel during the winter when I’m stuck inside for a few months.

  2. I love it because it makes modern cozy but I completely understand what you mean. I don’t think I would enjoy those long cold winters.

  3. Thanks Cynthia. I believe the designer on that first room is Jill Sorensen from Marmalade Interiors

  4. the second room is gorgeous ! I love that and am what I am trying to go for in my bedroom!

    I will be saving this page ! thanks Josh for posting this 🙂

  5. I love that room too! I am glad you enjoyed it. I am going to try to hit a different style every week or so until I have gone through all the trendy little style names!

  6. Ahhhh! Me too. 😉 I’ve called it organic modern before but I love earthy. The last 2 pics are just amazing.

  7. A good guide, all rooms look great – really love the maps in the last room – think the one on the left is actually London, my home town. Would be happy with that style in my own home.

Leave a Reply

