Marimekko’s great prints

Marimekko has been creating amazing prints since the 1949 under the name of Printex before becoming Marimekko in 1951. The iconic Finish company has created some of the most beautiful, awe inspiring prints of the last century. Founded by Viljo and Armi Ratia , the company became famous for its contributions to fashion and home design throughout the 1960s and 70s. In the mid 1960’s, Crate and Barrel began a relationship with Marimekko, which continues to this day, utilizing their designs on textiles sold in their stores.

1950s

1960s

1970s

1980s

1990s

2000s

If you love bold prints and colors for your home, you should definitely check out the new Marimekko Shop at Crate and Barrel. The prints are amazing and of course the products are typical for Crate and Barrel. I fell in love with many of the items. Here are a few of my favorites.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “Marimekko’s great prints

  1. My most favorite blanket in all the world is a Marimekko magenta pink comforter circa 1989. I still have it and it reminds me of my childhood every time I bring it out. 🙂

  2. Love Marimekko… I have some towels that were perfect for my bathroom… but I would like to get some more accent pillows… or possibly score some vintage items.

  3. Kristen –
    Make sure you check out the line at Crate and Barrel. They have some awesome stuff. Vintage pillows will of course be hard to find but well worth it. You might could score a blanket or other linens and make them into pillows pretty easily. Let me know what you find!

    Happy Hunting
    Josh

  4. I love those bold prints – my favourite is the huge red flowers. Thanks for the lovely pics!

Leave a Reply

