10 things I love for Earth Day….

Upcycling is “The practice of taking something that is disposable and transforming it into something of greater use and value”. The term was coined in the book Cradle to Cradle: Remaking the Way We Make Things by William McDonough and Michael Braungart. I love the concept. Upcycling isn’t something new or something hard to do. Have you ever held or been to a yard sale or even a thrift store? Of course you have and with these simple acts, you have participated in the simplest form of upcycling. Everything from buying used merchandise, to refinishing old furniture, to re-purposing things you already own fall under the broad idea of upcycling.

Upcycling is one of my favorite things. I love to work with furniture and re-purpose it. I love taking something old and making it new again. Of course, time doesn’t always allow me to do so. Below you see some great products form your home. I am in no way an expert on making environmentally friendly choices in the home so this list is more about things that I love that happen to be a better choice, maybe not the best choice.

Recycled Glass Vases – These are from Viva Terra

Reclaimed Wood Furniture – This is from Urban Woods

Recycled Glass Counter Tops – This is from Vetrazzo

Organic Cotton Bedding – This is from West Elm

Recycled Paint – This is Metro Paint

Soy Candles – These are from BSAB Candles

Organic Cleaners – Seventh Generation

Reclaimed Wood Flooring – Reclaimed Flooring

Upcycled Furniture – Hammer and Hand

Food Based Paint – Anna Sova

7 thoughts on “10 things I love for Earth Day….

  1. Thanks Nicole…. Carmen to tweet my blog posts, you have to click on the title then scroll to the bottom. I hate this template makes it so difficult. I am working on an update to the blog that will fix it.

  2. I was at a design house show this week and every room and designer had an upcycled piece. I am glad it’s not a trend.
    Meredith @ chairyblossoms.com

  3. Me too! I love it and grew up doing it before it had such a catchy name. Where was the show house?

Leave a Reply

