Villa Marre, the Designing Women House

I don’t know if I have mentioned in any of my previous posts just how obsessed I am with design history and architecture. I am sure that you have caught on if you have been reading my blog lately as I have been posting lots of design history related stuff.

Well, I hope you are enjoying this as much as I am because the trend will continue tonight. I recently received John Milnes Baker’s book “American House Styles.” I was super excited to get back to reading about American house styles. It also made me think about my House Styles course in college. For this class, we had to photograph a representation of different house styles. It, like so many of my courses at UCA, were so much fun and I learned so much.

Probably my favorite house that I found was the house in Little Rock, Arkansas filmed as the Sugarbaker House for Designing Women. Know as the Villa Marre, this home is a beautiful example of the American Mansard style home. It can be seen at 1321 S. Scott in Little Rock, Arkansas. The home is now a private residence.

This house style became popular in the United States during the French Second Empire between 1852 to 1871. The mansard roof originally was developed in France in the 1600s by Francois Mansart. It enjoyed wide popularity when it was revived in the 1800s and 1970s. This home features key Mansard characteristics including the mansard roof, many dormers, decorative ironwork, quoins, and massive cornices.

